Mathematics in Poetry

On Twitter I found:
 

@mathematicsprof :   Mathematics in Poetry
http://mathdl.maa.org/images/upload_library/4/vol6/Growney/MathPoetry.html

 

@gpjelliss :   Construction of the Nine-Point Circle

 

                                                 A circle is a happy thing to be–
                                                 Think how the joyful perpendicular
                                                 Erected at the kiss of tangency
                                                 Must meet my central point, my avator.
                                                 And lovely as I am, yet only 3
                                                 Points are needed to determine me.
                                                 Christopher Morley (1890-1957)

 
 

I found a cute little poem:

                         poem

 
 
Four circles to the kissing come
http://www.pballew.net/soddy.html
 
 
Share your favorite math poem.
 
 

About benvitalis

math grad - Interest: Number theory
This entry was posted in Math Beauty and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment